Power of Ten

October 10, 2010

 

The Power of Ten

The Power of Ten

 

Greetings, fellow trudgers on “the road of happy destiny”…

This moment, as I click the POST button, it is ten minutes and ten seconds past ten p.m. on October 10th, 2010.

Also known as:

10:10.10 on 10-10-10.

Today’s decimal-fest got me to thinking about tens popping up in my life. I wake up every day and try to note ten things to be grateful for. I have ten daily practices I engage in that have changed the course of my days (one of which is to note down the gratitudes above). And changing the course of my days is (of course) changing the course of my life.

I noted today that as a result of taking certain steps (and being painstaking about it) there are ten promises that have also come true for me:

1. I know a new freedom and a new happiness.
2. I no longer regret the past nor wish to shut the door on it.
3. I comprehend the word serenity, and I know peace.
4. No matter how far down the scale I have gone, I see how my experience can benefit others.
5. My feelings of uselessness and self-pity are disappearing.
6. I am losing interest in selfish things and gaining interest in my fellows (self-seeking is slipping away).
7. My whole attitude and outlook upon life has changed.
8. Fear of people and of economic insecurity is leaving me (well, in the case of that last one, it’s a work in progress).
9. I intuitively know how to handle situations which used to baffle me.
10. I am suddenly realizing that a Higher Power of my understanding is doing for me what I could not do for myself.

My question is this: Are these extravagant promises?

Happy Trails!